A8 Parts Forum

A8 Parts Forum (https://forum.a8parts.co.uk/index.php)
-   D3 - Everything Else (https://forum.a8parts.co.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=64)
-   -   Snow (https://forum.a8parts.co.uk/showthread.php?t=13879)

Simonbartlett 25th February 2018 11:23 PM

Snow

So later this week we are forcast snow. My wife and daughter have a 3 hour drive each wsy to a uni. So my question is should they take my d3 with normal tyres and 4wd or the wifes a3 with Michelin cross climate tyres ?

paulrstaylor 26th February 2018 09:36 AM

My view is that quattro is great at getting you moving when slippy, but on standard tyres it won't help you steer or stop!

So maybe tyre is the deciding factor? In any case, 300miles I suspect will be mainly motorway, so should be clear :rolleyes:

ainarssems 26th February 2018 10:18 AM

I have no personal experience with Crossclimate tyres but I would chose 2WD with winter tyres over 4WD with summer tyres.

HPsauce 26th February 2018 10:41 AM

Winter tyres every time (or CrossClimate).+++

Audidothat 19th March 2018 11:24 AM

Tyres aside, this second spell of snow has allowed the Quattro system to shine yet again!

I am not saying it is a LR Defender but as my household has a rear wheel drive BMW and a front wheel drive C6 Avant to draw comparisons from, Quattro really does help.

Out of interest, are the Merc 4-matic and BMW X-Drive systems mechanically the same as Audi Quattro? I'm imagining VW 4Motion is actually Quattro....?

(Just reading up on the alternate 4x4 systems now on Wiki, very interesting).

snapdragon 19th March 2018 11:58 AM

Yes, a fair few years since the last serious snow here, but yet again the Quattro shone through up some really steep untreated hills and I'm only running 4 newish summer tyres Nexen N'Fera SU1.
Easily got around zig-zagging stationary cars even when setting off from a stop after waiting for them, virtually never broke traction - manual mode 2 or 1 down the hills and the Quattro works in reverse.