A8 Parts Forum

A8 Parts Forum (https://forum.a8parts.co.uk/index.php)
-   D2 - Everything else (https://forum.a8parts.co.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=62)
-   -   3.7 40V starts, then stops. (https://forum.a8parts.co.uk/showthread.php?t=2400)

Trophy885 17th December 2010 03:49 PM

3.7 40V starts, then stops.

Dear A8 gurus,
I have a 2000 3.7 V8 40 valve, which will crank, start, and then stops.
Coupled with this, the instrument cluster does not light up, and none of the gauges work.
Does anyone have any ideas?
The car has covered 80K miles, had a new battery (Bosch) in May '10, as the car only gets used occasionally, I wanted to "make sure" it would always start!!
Best Regards, and many Thanks.
Steve

Conan_the_Librarian 17th December 2010 03:56 PM

Steve,

Welcome to the forum. Sounds like an immobiliser issue to me. I'm not an expert on the FL D2 immobiliser, but the instrument, ECU and keys are all matched and you have classic immobilisor symptoms there. Someone will be along shortly.

PsYcHe 17th December 2010 05:33 PM

Try moving the steering column in or out by a bit and see if it makes a difference.

ainarssems 17th December 2010 07:26 PM

Immobiliser is built into the instrument panel which apparently is not working correctly so engine cuts out. Check the fuses and connections( short/open) to the instrument cluster. Disconnect battery for a while ( at least 15 min I would say) and see if that makes a difference after reconnecting. If the instrument cluster has gone bad You will need to replace it and have the immobiliser recoded which only few places can do apart from dealers. If You get a second hand instrument cluster with original key You can use Your key blade on that key and will only need to pair ECU with immo which is pretty simple and DIY if You have diagnostics cable.

Mr K 18th December 2010 10:21 AM

Have you got a spare key you can try?