A8 Parts Forum

A8 Parts Forum (https://forum.a8parts.co.uk/index.php)
-   D3 - Axles, Brakes, Suspension and Steering (https://forum.a8parts.co.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   S8 Ceramic discs judder (https://forum.a8parts.co.uk/showthread.php?t=15135)

Durham 27th July 2019 08:20 PM

S8 Ceramic discs judder

Hi, I am relatively new to using the forum although I have had my D3 S8 with ceramics, for almost 2 years now.
Te car has an intermittent brake judder at approx 80mph. the ceramic discs have been removed, checked and replaced to no effect. Judder worse when brakes warm, Non existent when wet and the judder can be avoided by braking really hard. So I wonder if it could be a suspension problem?
Does anybody have any ideas on the? Or suggestions on who would be best to take the car too?
Any thoughts gratefully received.
Thanks

homer simpson 28th July 2019 11:27 AM

Pads and tyres ok? Btw you have posted in the D4 section :)

kele 28th July 2019 11:36 AM

If the pad has been inserted incorrectly or the backing clip on the pad is bent or damaged, then you can get these symptoms. And the inner pad may wear more quickly that the outer pad but if the discs have been checked then presumably they checked all that..

I had the same symptoms that you describe on my A6 which turned out to be a damaged pad backing clip.

ainarssems 28th July 2019 04:19 PM

Worn suspension bushes can produce the same symptoms as well, especially on the lower curved arm.

Durham 28th July 2019 06:31 PM

Thanks guys. Will now post in right section! Don't know how that happened
:)

Durham 28th July 2019 06:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by homer simpson (Post 151908)
Pads and tyres ok? Btw you have posted in the D4 section :)