A8 Parts Forum

A8 Parts Forum (https://forum.a8parts.co.uk/index.php)
-   D2 - Lights (https://forum.a8parts.co.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Perplexing indicator fault (https://forum.a8parts.co.uk/showthread.php?t=17000)

27litres 17th April 2023 04:12 AM

Perplexing indicator fault

G'day folks,

I have an interesting fault currently...
My indicators aren't working ("eh, who needs 'em, I'm an Audi Driver yo!").

However, I'm confused with fixing them.
As far as I can tell, the indicators and the hazards use the same relay in the relay panel (J2).
Well, the hazards work perfectly!

Intermittently, I can get the indicators to come on solidly (no flash), then last night on my way home from work (it was 2am, two turns to my street, just over a km distance - I chanced it) they actually flashed very slowly when I applied the brakes. Came off the brakes and they went back to solid (no flash).

Ok, so maybe it's the switch... I'm not convinced with that behaviour though. So how can I test the switch - with the ignition off, I turn the switch and the side parking lights come on, along with the interior buzzer. I tested this multiple times and it works every time.
So I don't think it's the switch.

Back to the relay then...

Any thoughts?

I'll give feedback if I solve it!

27litres 17th April 2023 04:58 AM

More confusion...

Where is "Passenger Compartment Relay Panel No.4"?
As that supposedly contains the "Turn Signal J1" and "Hazard Warning Light J2" relay/modules in the one housing at the R1 location.
Judging by other relays on the same panel (coolant fan speed control, horn, windows, sunroof, steering wheel), it would want to be reasonably easy to access.

Under the MDF panel, I can only identify Relay Panels 1, 2 and 3.
I cannot see No.4.

So I now have no idea where to find the indicator relay, except I'm thinking it's part of the hazard light switch similar to a B5, as that has a physical tapping (like a bi-metal strip) when the hazards are operating...