A8 Parts Forum  

Go Back   A8 Parts Forum > A8 D4 > D4 - Wheels and Tyres

D4 - Wheels and Tyres Refurbing, center caps, tyre brands, tyrefitters - discuss it here

Old 8th January 2017, 08:20 AM

Default Time to change tyres

Hi,

It is getting close to tyre change time, and whilst I have lots of experience on the comparisons between Pirelli Pzero, Michelin PS2 and Goodyear Eagle F1 Asym, my tyre of choice is the Goodyear, due to them being the quietest. However, I have just noticed when looking that there is now a new Goodyear option in my tyre size (265/40r20) that is still the Eagle F1 but with SCT - Sound Comfort Technology. Press release says reduction if tyre noise by 11dB, which reduces cabin noise by 4dB and if course if that I true, it's a no brainier.

Anyone tried these yet and have any feedback, as all reviews I can find relate to the non-SCT version.

Cheers
Mark
Old 8th January 2017, 09:08 AM

If it makes any difference, I've just bought two Avon ZZ5 tyres. It's too early to have an opinion on them but they have good reviews and they are marked as A rated for wet with 70db for noise (looks like 1db more than F1 SCT) . Plus they're made in England.
'00 Audi S8 Agate Grey (Sold )
'11 Audi Q7 4.2tdi Unknown Red (Classic Red Pearl Effect - thanks MJ)

Last edited by pete-p; 8th January 2017 at 09:11 AM.
Old 8th January 2017, 09:28 AM

I run the Goodyear Eagle F1 Assymetrics on my cat at the moment. I've mostly fitted F1s on my cars and have always been happy with them - the GSD3 was amazingly quiet.

I'm hoping to try on a set of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tyres on mine next:

http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Article...ss-Release.htm

2008 Audi S8
Old 8th January 2017, 10:09 AM

Looks like the technology has been around a while, was actually launched for the A8.

http://www.goodyear.eu/corporate_eme...hnology_161644

I wonder if a puncture repair would still be possible!?
Old 8th January 2017, 11:43 AM

Thanks for quick responses guys.