A8 Parts Forum  

Go Back   A8 Parts Forum > General Natter > IT, AV and other Tech

IT, AV and other Tech All computing, home cinema and technology that isnt car related

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #601  
Old 14th January 2018, 12:25 PM
MikkiJayne MikkiJayne is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Devon
Posts: 1,117
Default

That's an interesting discovery. Is that what causes the 'random' disconnects? Connected directly to Nicehash I'm getting 0.2% dead time due to socket errors, but on MRR it was 25-30%.

I can't match cast's hash rate with stak either, although its closer than 25% for me. >1950H/s per card on cast or ~1800H/s on stak. When I was doing Electroneum stak would get a better average rate on the pool and found more shares than cast, but Nicehash doesn't care - it just wants more H/s.

Also, although cast will happily run both cards with one executable, it is definitely faster running one per card instead, by 50-100H/s for the same power consumption. Stak doesn't show the same difference though. Running two instances of cast reduces hash rate drop due to disconnects too as the cards hardly ever disconnect at the same time so even if one is idling, the other is still running.

Just need more of them now!!! There are a couple of Sapphire 56s on ebay for 650 but I'm not paying that for used ones when Scan say they will have the Red Devil in at the end of the month for 600. No sign of the French ones yet.
__________________


Pecuariam felis

Last edited by MikkiJayne; 14th January 2018 at 12:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #602  
Old 14th January 2018, 12:26 PM
ainarssems ainarssems is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Rushden, Northants
Posts: 2,865
Default

So after a bit of tinkering with the L3+ with custom firmware and adjusting settings for individual hashing boards I have gone from 520MH/s to 620MH/s, I have not measured power consumption yet but based on my previous observations on other L3+s it's probably gone from 800W to 1000W and now it's mining dev fee 1.5% of time. Overall after dev fee and increased power consumption I am about 60/month better off now. No point flashing other 2 L3+s I have as hashing boards are more evenly matched on those so I would not gain anything, just loose 1.5% mining time in dev fee.
__________________

1997 S8 was Cat B write-off in 2007 but still going strong

Last edited by ainarssems; 14th January 2018 at 12:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #603  
Old 14th January 2018, 12:46 PM
ainarssems ainarssems is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Rushden, Northants
Posts: 2,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikkiJayne View Post
That's an interesting discovery. Is that what causes the 'random' disconnects? Connected directly to Nicehash I'm getting 0.2% dead time due to socket errors, but on MRR it was 25-30%.

I can't match cast's hash rate with stak either, although its closer than 25% for me. >1950H/s per card on cast or ~1800H/s on stak. When I was doing Electroneum stak would get a better average rate on the pool and found more shares than cast, but Nicehash doesn't care - it just wants more H/s.

Also, although cast will happily run both cards with one executable, it is definitely faster running one per card instead, by 50-100H/s for the same power consumption. Stak doesn't show the same difference though. Running two instances of cast reduces hash rate drop due to disconnects too as the cards hardly ever disconnect at the same time so even if one is idling, the other is still running.

Just need more of them now!!! There are a couple of Sapphire 56s on ebay for 650 but I'm not paying that for used ones when Scan say they will have the Red Devil in at the end of the month for 600. No sign of the French ones yet.
I had e-mail from amazon.fr saying expected shipping date 3rd March to 23rd May.
__________________

1997 S8 was Cat B write-off in 2007 but still going strong
Reply With Quote
  #604  
Old 14th January 2018, 05:47 PM
MikkiJayne MikkiJayne is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Devon
Posts: 1,117
Default

That's a bit poor! I doubt those 1st gen cards I ordered will turn up at all tbh. They originally estimated 9th Jan, but there's no date on them at all now. I'll probably end up ordering a pair of the Red Devils from Scan I think.
__________________


Pecuariam felis
Reply With Quote
  #605  
Old Today, 04:20 AM
ainarssems ainarssems is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Rushden, Northants
Posts: 2,865
Default

There was another batch of L3+ and S9 released at 3am GMT from Bitmain but sold out already. Second part of the same batch will be available at 9AM GMT.
__________________

1997 S8 was Cat B write-off in 2007 but still going strong
Reply With Quote
  #606  
Old Today, 11:27 AM
Delboy's Avatar
Delboy Delboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lowestoft, Suffolk
Posts: 2,365
Default

Did u manage to get any.

I set the alarm for both releases and both times by the time I clicked through to checkout the units were sold out.
__________________
Del

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.