A8 Parts Forum  

Go Back   A8 Parts Forum > A8 D4 > D4 - Sat Nav, ICE, Audio & TV

D4 - Sat Nav, ICE, Audio & TV All in car entertainment discussions including MMI 3G Plus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51  
Old 16th April 2017, 03:00 PM
manca manca is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Nr Kingston, Surrey
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A8 Ian View Post
Thank you for the help. I have followed the guide and unfortunately no luck at all. I've tried to downgrade the software 7 times now I've gone from the latest and worked back from that to K900, K787, K0770, K618, K0518, list goes on ... I had P0097 originally and everything was fine sound wise ... it's looking more and more live a trip to Audi is on the cards.
Last attempt will commence shortly for P0066 .. wish me luck.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 16th April 2017, 06:21 PM
paulrstaylor paulrstaylor is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manchester
Posts: 871
Default

Worth a post to ask for help on this thread on A5OC?

http://www.a5oc.com/forums/a5-genera...avigation.html
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 17th April 2017, 06:35 AM
A8 Ian A8 Ian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: West Midlands/London
Posts: 90
Default

Well that did not go so well... followed the guide on emergency update and now my MMI is bricked completely. .. won't boot up at all.. no communication with vcds .. and when I do the 3 button restart I can hear it boot up but nothing on the screen at all it just stays in the dashboard.

Looks like I will have to remove the MMI and try to push out a new OS manually on the bench .. better get the kit out and hope for the best... other wise it's an expensive mistake
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 17th April 2017, 08:06 AM
paulrstaylor paulrstaylor is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manchester
Posts: 871
Default

From bad to worse, hope it goes well for you soon.

I had a new MMI 5f fitted under warranty, very expensive part from the dealer - but on the upside there don't tend to go wrong in normal use and so there are a lot in breakers who's pricing strategy seems to be quite variable. Component protection would need removing and some coding, not sure if this would still leave you with a Bose issue?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 17th April 2017, 09:27 AM
A8 Ian A8 Ian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: West Midlands/London
Posts: 90
Default

Component protection is no problem I have the kit to remove it, I have the kit to even re flashthe unit using odis engineering but sadly I can't find the flash file anywhere
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 17th April 2017, 01:13 PM
paulrstaylor paulrstaylor is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manchester
Posts: 871
Default

Could you copy from another unit? i.e. mine?
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 17th April 2017, 06:18 PM
manca manca is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Nr Kingston, Surrey
Posts: 197
Default

Sorry to hear of your problems Ian, fingers crossed its not as bad as it sounds.
I reconsidered updating my maps today in light of your problems, but in the end curiosity got the better of me. Seems to have worked, 2017 maps activated and working. Hopefully I'll get my data sim delivered tomorrow and can sample Audi Connect and Google Maps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.