A8 Parts Forum  

Go Back   A8 Parts Forum > General Natter > Daily banter

Daily banter For everything, and anything that doesnt fit in elsewhere

Old 22nd September 2013, 04:17 AM

Default My 2000 A8L D2 w supercharger

Folks...I'm a newbie here from Sydney...have been on AudiAddict for a while...rather than re-post - have a look here if you wish...
http://audiaddict.net/viewtopic.php?...08ff9591402c73

Plus some videos onYoutube - search for "obevz" or "A8L Supercharged"

Quick summary
Bought her when she was 3 (2004) @ 92,000kms
One of only 18 A8L D2's imported in Australia by Audi.
At around 150kms, installed a Lysholm AX2300 Supercharger kit - ($20K) :
Had gearbox overhauled - it got a bit "slippy" and upgraded (std mod):
At 191,000 blew up the engine - with a whimper. Strange, about 1 month after the "major" 190,000km service ($4,900!)
Replaced it with a low compression, toughened rods, forged piston engine, with ported & polished RS6 heads. from Overland Parts in Gilroy, CA USA...really nice people, know their stuff...ask for Steve Zlotkin.
RS4 20" low profile rims & tyres
Custom extractors, racing CATS
9 different freekin exhaust systems - current is from cats into one 3" all the way to a small muffler and a larger back.

New projects
Replacing Radiator - coolant been overheating since I installed the supercharger in around 2007-8. Found out a simple fix...remove the long robber seal just behind the engine...that separates the engine bay from the air-con intakes...a tad smelly sometimes...but no overheating...unfortunately the radiator leaks - so a newbie on it's way Sep 2013

Am I going nuts?
Looking at replacing Supercharger with twin turbos - ala RS6 style...I think I may need a smack in the head...or start looking for beefed up Auto gearboxes - anybody?

BTW- I just had my sunroof fully replaced by Audi - for free...been leaking 4ever...Audi = nice folks