A8 Parts Forum  

Go Back   A8 Parts Forum > A8 D3 > D3 - Sat Nav, ICE, Audio & TV

D3 - Sat Nav, ICE, Audio & TV All in car entertainment discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 16th June 2017, 04:33 PM
M-A8's Avatar
M-A8 M-A8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SE
Posts: 2,723
Default

__________________

2006 D3 S8 5.2 V10
Ceramic Brakes, Bang&Olufsen, DTV, DAB, Rear Camera, BT, TPMS, Soft Close, Auto Boot, AMI , 4 Zone AC, Home Link, All Electric Blinds, Fingerprint, Ski Hatch, Black Extended Leather, Heated Sport Seats, Alacantra, Carbon Trim inc Aluminium Pack 2.
2015 A3 S line 1.4 TFSI - for the missus to keep her away from my car.
Standard S-line equipment, no extras.
2006 D3 A8 3.7 V8 - SOLD but not forgotten
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 16th June 2017, 07:18 PM
JulianHicks JulianHicks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ashford, Kent
Posts: 205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delboy View Post
I'm chilled, my text is clearly not expressing my feelings clearly I was just saying I have no interest to try update cd's
Hi Delboy,

It WOULD be interesting for us to see VCDS output for the SDS and Phone ECUs in your car, just in case that reveals something in the level or coding values.

Julian
__________________
Audi A8 3.0TDI MY2005 in Midnight Blue. Bose V1, Keyless, Fingerprint, AMI, 'SIM in armrest' phone etc.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 16th June 2017, 07:27 PM
JulianHicks JulianHicks is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ashford, Kent
Posts: 205
Default

By the way; I personally think 2G MMI updates have got an unnecessarily 'bad name' because of two issues that were misunderstood or misreported.

There seem to be only two issues:

1) V1 Bose amps sometimes went into CP
2) Early BT ECUs didn't support the 'two stage' update described by Marcin. (There's a US technote describing MMI updates for the BT ECU thta specifically tells the Audi Tech to replace low level part numbers) The US used the same hw as euro A8s, I believe).

Julian
__________________
Audi A8 3.0TDI MY2005 in Midnight Blue. Bose V1, Keyless, Fingerprint, AMI, 'SIM in armrest' phone etc.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 16th June 2017, 10:32 PM
briang9's Avatar
briang9 briang9 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,376
Default

I am no expert as most of you know..but sounds like a similar issue I had on the RS6, turned out to be a faulty BT module, I got one from the bay of e, and a kind member of a local Audi FB group coded it to my car..and Bob was my mums brother..as has been said you need one with the same SW no I think, around 170 I think it was
__________________



Audi S8 2002, Black (even the chrome bits)
Audi RS6 Avant 2008, Daytona Grey
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 17th June 2017, 07:48 AM
Delboy's Avatar
Delboy Delboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lowestoft, Suffolk
Posts: 2,431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JulianHicks View Post
By the way; I personally think 2G MMI updates have got an unnecessarily 'bad name' because of two issues that were misunderstood or misreported.

There seem to be only two issues:

1) V1 Bose amps sometimes went into CP
2) Early BT ECUs didn't support the 'two stage' update described by Marcin. (There's a US technote describing MMI updates for the BT ECU thta specifically tells the Audi Tech to replace low level part numbers) The US used the same hw as euro A8s, I believe).

Julian
Your most likely correct, but the thought of bricking modules scares me.

Its strange because with phones and computers etc I'm all over updating it to death (literally) Ipads for example now reduced to unusable state due to constant updates to the software.

The car however I have resisted the urge to update for the sake of updating.
__________________
Del

Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 17th June 2017, 07:49 AM
Delboy's Avatar
Delboy Delboy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lowestoft, Suffolk
Posts: 2,431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by briang9 View Post
I am no expert as most of you know..but sounds like a similar issue I had on the RS6, turned out to be a faulty BT module, I got one from the bay of e, and a kind member of a local Audi FB group coded it to my car..and Bob was my mums brother..as has been said you need one with the same SW no I think, around 170 I think it was
Cheers Brian, I'll get to the bottom of it eventually. Its one of them things that I don't use much anyway as I hate taking / making calls while driving.
__________________
Del

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.