A8 Parts Forum  

Go Back   A8 Parts Forum > A8 D2 > D2 - Everything else

D2 - Everything else Anything that doesnt fit elsewhere

Old 17th December 2010, 03:49 PM

Default 3.7 40V starts, then stops.

Dear A8 gurus,
I have a 2000 3.7 V8 40 valve, which will crank, start, and then stops.
Coupled with this, the instrument cluster does not light up, and none of the gauges work.
Does anyone have any ideas?
The car has covered 80K miles, had a new battery (Bosch) in May '10, as the car only gets used occasionally, I wanted to "make sure" it would always start!!
Best Regards, and many Thanks.
Steve
Old 17th December 2010, 03:56 PM
UberSeniorChiefLibrarian

Steve,

Welcome to the forum. Sounds like an immobiliser issue to me. I'm not an expert on the FL D2 immobiliser, but the instrument, ECU and keys are all matched and you have classic immobilisor symptoms there. Someone will be along shortly.

Watch it if you dare

Currently,
2000 S8, Merlin Purple, Leather Pack 1, Winter Pack 1, SPAX adjustable suspension, AP Racing 6 pot front caliper, 385mm fully floating disks, EBC Yellow Stuff Pads, Black Diamond grooved rear disks and predetor pads, D2 Doctors Brake Block.
1997 4.2 A8SQ - the Projekt. 12 years and ongoing!
1997 4.2 A8SQ - Ming Blue. Restoration sat waiting; saved from the Scrapyard
2003 C5 Allroad 4.2Q - Cobolt Blue. Towing car. Laid up awaiting manual conversion.
2005 C5 Allroad 2.5TDi FE - Grey - Workhorse.
2015 Q3QS SLine - Daytona Grey. Lots of extras! Long Haired Admirals cutter.

Previously
2003 C5 A6 1.9TDI FWD - Loaner from D2 Doctor Lifex
1997 S8 - Ming Blue. Loaned out and written off. I loved that car. My first engine swap after cambelt failure.
1996 4.2 A8SQ - Ming Blue. 178k on a cambelt! Trader's 8. Delivered to A8Parts at Lifex.
2003 2.8 A8SQ - powder blueish. Fill in for a while. Sold on.
1998 1.8T A4 Avant FWD. Ming Blue (there's a theme here), PEX for the 97 S8.
And a list of non VAG going back 40 years before I saw the light.