A8 Parts Forum  

Go Back   A8 Parts Forum > A8 D2 > D2 - Axles, Brakes, Suspension and Steering

D2 - Axles, Brakes, Suspension and Steering Brakes, Springs, shocks, steering racks, steering columns, suspension arms, wheel hubs etc.

Old 5th September 2013, 10:06 AM

Question Spacer options

All,

Seriously considering spacers. I see a lot of options around, lots of different prices, lots of different widths, long bolts, short bolts etc.

I need to know that I will not cause any rubbing (front or rear) when the car is fully loaded up with family and luggage.

Seems a lot of you space out the rears, but not the fronts. Any reason? What do they REALLY do to geometry, suspension wear etc etc?

Anyway, I would like your opinions and recommendations please, as I have no experience at all with these.

Thanks,
Zip

2002 D2 S8: Ebony Black over Platinum. A8L Comfort front seats in black (), heated rear seats, extended Leather Pack 3, blinds, glass sunroof, MFSW, Dension Gateway 100 for iPod, ski-hatch, xenon plus, auto dimming mirrors, 20" FE wheels, billet aluminium 'brake block', gunmetal Brembo calipers

2005 B6 S4 Cabriolet: Ebony Black Pearl over Silver. RNS-E, Bose, heated seats, cruise control, retrofit aux-in, centre armrest, Milltek resonated exhaust
Old 5th September 2013, 07:40 PM

I've been considering this too from a looks perspective and have my own views on the relative merits which may help your decision making a bit.

If you buy smaller spacers there isn't space to bolt the spacer to the hub and then the wheel to the spacer using the original bolts. From memory it's 20 or 25mm a side before you can use the original bolts.

If you're going for the thinner options just to space the factory wheels out to fill the arches better (which is what I'd like to achieve) then you will need longer bolts to compensate for the spacer width, plus some security bolts to suit as well.