A8 Parts Forum  

Go Back   A8 Parts Forum > A8 D2 > D2 - Sat Nav, ICE, Audio & TV

D2 - Sat Nav, ICE, Audio & TV All in car entertainment discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st January 2018, 05:45 PM
triumph2.5pi triumph2.5pi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 62
Default Modern DAB replacement

Hi all. Could anyone please advise if there is a modern DAB unit that could be fitted to my facelift D2 with a reasonable amount of work ie it not costing an arm and a leg? I'm a complete layman so would need to pay an auto electrician to install.
I would mainly like DAB and iphone connectivity.
I'm thinking a unit something along the lines of this:
http://www.kenwood-electronics.co.uk...b/DPX-7100DAB/
Is something like this possible without a silly payout to fit? Or am I barking up the wrong tree? Any help or advice greatly appreciated! :-)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6718.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	139.6 KB
ID:	17783  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st January 2018, 06:50 PM
Johnmed's Avatar
Johnmed Johnmed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 1,533
Default

Are there any Android head units available for the D2? Thats where Id be looking for added functionality. Would also be plug and play, youd hope....
__________________


CURRENT CAR: Quartz gray 2008 A8 3.0 TDi. My installs: (2009) AMI and ViseeO Tune2Air WMA3000A, generic RVC, Westfalia OEM towbar, D4 19s and S8 MFSW with paddles.

LAST CAR: Black 2001 A2 1.4 TDi, winter pack, leather/alcantara sports seats, DIS and BrokenSky
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st January 2018, 08:43 PM
MikkiJayne MikkiJayne is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Devon
Posts: 2,878
Default

I can definitely recommend the Kenwoods and their JVC equivalents. We have them in all our cars. Looks like you have a single-din dash so simplest to go for one of the single din Kenwoods too. I'm not sure if you can get a facia plate for the single-din D2 dash - you can't for the double-din so it has to be fabricated. There is a standard din-size hole back there but in the double-din its recessed a bit so it might still be a bit of a challenge to get it right.

Electrically it is relatively straightforward - you can get adapters from Autoleads to hook up to the original cabling (including Bose). You'll lose the FM antenna since the switching unit needs a signal from the original head unit to power up, but if you're going for a DAB head unit hopefully that won't matter.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd January 2018, 05:27 AM
triumph2.5pi triumph2.5pi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 62
Default

Thanks very much!
There appears to be a single din facia plate for a D2 here:
http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/ctka...stallation-kit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd January 2018, 08:55 AM
ainarssems ainarssems is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Rushden, Northants
Posts: 3,355
Default

I have 1 of these fitted to the OEM radio on our C5 A6 https://www.amazon.co.uk/Genuine-Hyu...+highway+300di
__________________
2006 A8 Sport 4.2TDI, 2004 S4 Cabriolet, 2000 A6 2.5TDI quattro Sport Avant

No longer have 1997 S8, reached end of life with gearbox failure
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd January 2018, 07:00 PM
triumph2.5pi triumph2.5pi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 62
Default

I'm having a Kenwood KDC-BT720DAB supplied and fitted on Thursday for 185 + VAT :-) Will post a pic!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th June 2018, 07:34 PM
Duffy Duffy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dalgety Bay, Fife
Posts: 286
Default

https://www.seicane.com/android-dvd-...control-usb-sd

Bump on this and anybody tried one of these?

__________________
1988 Audi 90 2.2E
2011 Mercedes E250
2016 Abarth 595 Competizione
2012 Porsche 981 3.4S PDK mid life crisis!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 7th June 2018, 07:54 PM
MikkiJayne MikkiJayne is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Devon
Posts: 2,878
Default

Lol timing! Dean and I were just talking about this yesterday, but from a UK seller. Neither of us have pulled the trigger yet though.

http://www.iceboxauto.com/audi-a8-19...d-51-hl-8818gb

They have one that looks a bit like an RNS-D too:

http://www.iceboxauto.com/audi-a8-android-8-w221

Last edited by MikkiJayne; 7th June 2018 at 07:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th June 2018, 01:53 PM
Duffy Duffy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dalgety Bay, Fife
Posts: 286
Default

Cool

I'm keen I think on something like this or going for the Alpine ILX 702 (I've already got a 700 in my ST220 and its excellent).

I'll be keen to hear what you go for

__________________
1988 Audi 90 2.2E
2011 Mercedes E250
2016 Abarth 595 Competizione
2012 Porsche 981 3.4S PDK mid life crisis!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 8th June 2018, 03:54 PM
briang9's Avatar
briang9 briang9 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,620
Default

Andy fitted a similar unit into a TT recentlly, details in this thread

http://forum.a8parts.co.uk/showthread.php?t=9782&page=6



These Icebox units almost look OEM....would they be easyish to fit for a competent ICE installer and could existing wiring be used including Sat Nav and FM signal? Mine is non Bose

TIA
__________________



Audi S8 2002, Black (even the chrome bits)
Audi RS6 Avant 2008, Daytona Grey
Maserati Granturismo 2008, Metallic Nero Carbonio

Last edited by briang9; 8th June 2018 at 04:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.