A8 Parts Forum  

Go Back   A8 Parts Forum > General Natter > IT, AV and other Tech

IT, AV and other Tech All computing, home cinema and technology that isnt car related

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd March 2020, 07:32 PM
Conan_the_Librarian's Avatar
Conan_the_Librarian Conan_the_Librarian is offline
UberSeniorChiefLibrarian
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: In a library
Posts: 3,581
Default Merging two access points.

I currently get my internet from an EE 4g modem. Being rural, it's the only option to copper wire which Max's out at 6 Megs. The 4g hits 25 on a good day. It is however damned expensive if I exceed my allowance. Now I've signed up to Netflix that is happening occasionally.

Can I merge two USPS. One over my telephone line and one from my 4g modem based on bandwidth demand. Normally running on the ADSL supply but kicking in the 4g ISP when required?

TiA.
CtL
__________________
Conan (the Librarian)


Watch it if you dare
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd March 2020, 06:28 AM
PsYcHe PsYcHe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Blantyre, Scotland
Posts: 4,124
Default

In theory, yes. In practice, it's a bit more complex. You'll need some kind of device to put 'in front' of both connections (like a raspberry Pi) and some software to control it. Very possible that someone has already done it.
__________________
2010 Jag XF 3.0D Portfolio S

I know.. I know..

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd March 2020, 07:14 AM
Dezzy's Avatar
Dezzy Dezzy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: N. Devon
Posts: 2,713
Default

We've just gone to Airband 25 notes a month. But you might be too valleyised and tree bound to get it.
__________________
1996 A8 4.2 QS. Bose, Solar roof, um...um... rally sport towbar. Now gone to a new home as the Traders 8.

Bright yellow bus o love.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd March 2020, 07:38 AM
moltuae's Avatar
moltuae moltuae is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: East Lancs.
Posts: 2,582
Default

You can do fail-over DSL/LTE easily with the right router. I do this for some of my customers and for my own home/office connection. I use a DrayTek Vigor 2862 LTE at home, which has a built-in LTE modem and additionally supports ADSL/VDSL, fibre broadband (over Ethernet), etc. The router takes a SIM card, which provides a 4G LTE connection if my VDSL connection goes down. Or, I can immediately switch to LTE any time I like simply by disconnecting the VDSL connection.

However, switching from DSL to LTE based on bandwidth requirements is a lot more complicated, and really not something you'd want to do. Even if you could make it work reliably, it would provide a poor internet experience due to the frequently changing public IP address, which would result in streaming restarts and website log-outs.

Have you considered switching to Three instead? They offer unlimited 4G/5G packages.
__________________
Mark
------------------------------------------------------
2002 FE S8 Ebony Black Pearl
------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------
Cars Owned:
The Tesla Era: 2020 Model S Performance Ludicrous+ (present)
(Black, with all black premium interior and carbon fibre décor, 21" sonic carbon twin turbine wheels and FSD capability)

The Audi Era: '97 A8 4.2 (Ming Blue) --> '96 A8 4.2 QS (Dark Green) --> '02 FE S8 (present)
The Citroen Era: '84 BX 1.6 RS --> '89 BX 1.9 DTR Turbo --> '94 XM 2.0L Turbo --> '96 XM 2.0L Turbo Exclusive --> '00 Xantia Activa 2.0L Turbo
The Banger Era: '76 1.2L Lada VAZ-2101 (Ruski Fiat 124) --> '80 1.7L Morris Ital HL, finished in Ermine White and Rust

Last edited by moltuae; 23rd March 2020 at 07:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd March 2020, 07:57 AM
MikkiJayne MikkiJayne is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Devon
Posts: 3,146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dezzy View Post
We've just gone to Airband 25 notes a month.
I'm planning to switch to Airband in the next few months when my EE 4G contract comes to an end, as I'm having the same problem as Mike. I didn't have Airband coverage when I signed up with EE - they built a local repeater just 2 weeks later I thought 100GB a month with EE would be plenty, but I can use at least double that with Netflix & Prime. I switch my TV over to use my phone as a router though, since that also has 100GB.

EE have recently introduced an unlimited data SIM though for £40 a month, so maybe just switch to that once the 100GB contract expires?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd March 2020, 12:40 PM
Davey Blueeyes Davey Blueeyes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Isle of Wight
Posts: 283
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikkiJayne View Post
I'm planning to switch to Airband in the next few months when my EE 4G contract comes to an end, as I'm having the same problem as Mike. I didn't have Airband coverage when I signed up with EE - they built a local repeater just 2 weeks later I thought 100GB a month with EE would be plenty, but I can use at least double that with Netflix & Prime. I switch my TV over to use my phone as a router though, since that also has 100GB.

EE have recently introduced an unlimited data SIM though for £40 a month, so maybe just switch to that once the 100GB contract expires?
Crikey!! 100GB sounds a lot!

We are quite lucky here, they tend to pilot stuff here on the island. We were one of the very first place to BT Infinity and it was mega cheap when they first offered it to islanders (presumably to test it?).

My cousin and his wife (in Devon) are always moaning about their lack of phone signal and internet. You'd really like to think they would have sorted this for everyone by now, it's 2020!
__________________

2002 D2 S8 - Avus Silver, Valcona red leather, Dark Myrtle wood inserts, Heated rear seats, Heated windscreen, Auto dim rear view mirror, Bose, Xenon Plus, Servotronic, Extended leather, Heat & UV Reflective glass & Ski hatch. Gearbox went bang but she's sleeping safely away.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd March 2020, 05:13 PM
Conan_the_Librarian's Avatar
Conan_the_Librarian Conan_the_Librarian is offline
UberSeniorChiefLibrarian
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: In a library
Posts: 3,581
Default

Thanks for the feed back and ideas. I see 3 have a good deal on unlimited 4g that is also 5g ready. I'll look into EEs new unlimited offer as well.
It strikes me I could run two networks at home. All my AV is hardwired so the 4g could supply that. WiFi could be supplied by a different router supplied by ADSL.
However if I can find someone with a 3 mobile to check if I can get a signal at the house I may go that way.
__________________
Conan (the Librarian)


Watch it if you dare
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd March 2020, 09:22 PM
tc4332's Avatar
tc4332 tc4332 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Wigan, Greater Manchester, UK
Posts: 2,089
Default

I feel for you all.

I'm on Virgin Cable. Supposed to be 300Mbps but usually 384Mbps.
__________________
Ray at Wigan Pier

2014 A8L D4 4.0TFSI Gold (Sticker says "Beige") Can't leave you in a black smoke cloud anymore..
In progress, Nothing left to do.



Gone 2004 A8 D3 3.0 TDI. Ebony Pearl Black (with little bits of other colours and glitter)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.