A8 Parts Forum  

Go Back   A8 Parts Forum > A8 D2 > D2 - Everything else

D2 - Everything else Anything that doesnt fit elsewhere

Old 7th November 2022, 02:25 PM

Default Selling advice

Hi Guys

I bought a D2 S8 at the start of the year that had been off the road for 7 years with the intention of getting it going again and using it. As with most projects I have ran out of steam. It’s a 2002 model with 160k miles. It has a fully stamped book. I have replaced the fuel pump, battery, springs, refurbished the front callipers and it had had new discs and pads all round.

It still needs a good service and timing belt done for peace of mind. It runs and drives but can’t really go anywhere with it due to lack of mot. It also has a few warning lights on for ABS which I’m assuming is a rusty ABS ring and eml which Im unsure on the cause.

I am looking for advice on what you guys think the car is worth? I would add pictures but I’m not very good at the whole forum thing. 🤦🏼*♂️ any help would be appreciated.

Thanks, Andy.
Old 7th November 2022, 03:08 PM

Hi Andy,
Its sort of hello and goodbye then
Pictures, build sticker and more pictures plus a VCDS scan if you can get that done are the only way you'll get a decent appraisal. Where are you? perhaps a forum member can help with a scan etc?
Old 7th November 2022, 04:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dempsey87 View Post
a few warning lights on for ABS which I’m assuming is a rusty ABS ring and eml which Im unsure on the cause.
Its never a rusty ABS ring. Usually a front wheel sensor or the G200 lateral acceleration sensor. EML could be anything from vacuum hoses to £

A rolling project is usually £1-2K at best. If it can't be properly driven to prove the gearbox works then you're looking at the bottom end of that, unless its a rare spec or colour.

However, a working FL2 S8 with MoT and documented new parts can be 4-6K depending on overall condition.