A8 Parts Forum  

Go Back   A8 Parts Forum > A8 D3 > D3 - Lights

D3 - Lights Headlights, xenons, foglights. Everything outside the car that glows

Old 11th February 2016, 03:29 PM

Default Dealer quote of €280 to change bulbs..!

Was going to go down the lazy route until I got a quote from a dealer of €280 to change the headlight bulbs.... !!

Why? Because they need to remove the front bumper and the under-trays to get at the bulb. Then they have to realign the lights and put parts back again....

They should be subscribed to this forum!!!

:R OFL:
Old 11th February 2016, 03:36 PM

So you're not having it done then?

And to think some people pay that. I'm in the wrong game, i should be changing bulbs for a living

Bright yellow bus o love.
Old 11th February 2016, 03:54 PM

That's almost as good as the £4,000 (no typo, or missing decimal..) that I was quoted to replace the broken circular cap on the centre console on my D2 S8 a couple of years ago. It was fixed in the end with a £10 replacement from A8 Parts of the whole central cartridge

Dealer quote (service supervisor) at the time - "it's an integral part of the whole computer system, so it'll all need to be replaced, and can't be replaced on it's own"

I didn't realise I looked that stupid...
Old 11th February 2016, 04:01 PM

Depends on the model, but some do require headlight removal to get proper access, and some require bumper off before the headlights come out. Even on the V10 I think you can avoid that with removal of airboxes and a bracket or 2 to get to the back of them.

If that cost includes a couple of OEM gas discharge headlights it's actually not that unreasonable. They're usually a fair wack. If that's just labour then it's certainly a bit chunky!

If headlights come out they should always be realigned - had mine done properly after refurbishing the headlights as I'd had them out and in bits!