A8 Parts Forum  

Go Back   A8 Parts Forum > A8 D3 > D3 - Axles, Brakes, Suspension and Steering

D3 - Axles, Brakes, Suspension and Steering Brakes, Springs, shocks, steering racks, steering columns, suspension arms, wheel hubs etc.

Old 27th July 2019, 09:20 PM

Default S8 Ceramic discs judder

Hi, I am relatively new to using the forum although I have had my D3 S8 with ceramics, for almost 2 years now.
Te car has an intermittent brake judder at approx 80mph. the ceramic discs have been removed, checked and replaced to no effect. Judder worse when brakes warm, Non existent when wet and the judder can be avoided by braking really hard. So I wonder if it could be a suspension problem?
Does anybody have any ideas on the? Or suggestions on who would be best to take the car too?
Any thoughts gratefully received.
Thanks
Daytona Grey, Ceramic brakes, B&O, DTV, DAB, 6 CD, TPMS, Keyless entry, Soft close, Auto boot, AMI, Fingerprint, Black extended leather, Heated sports seats, Alcantara, Carbon trim, Power boot, 7 way electric memory seats.
Old 28th July 2019, 12:27 PM

Pads and tyres ok? Btw you have posted in the D4 section
2008 (facelift) S8 with B&O, ACC, glass sunroof, reversing camera, front and rear heated seats, ceramic brakes, homelink, electric side and rear blinds, ski load through, heated fan washer jets, remote boot closing, de-flapped manifold, fridge, umbrella holder
Old 28th July 2019, 12:36 PM

If the pad has been inserted incorrectly or the backing clip on the pad is bent or damaged, then you can get these symptoms. And the inner pad may wear more quickly that the outer pad but if the discs have been checked then presumably they checked all that..

I had the same symptoms that you describe on my A6 which turned out to be a damaged pad backing clip.