A8 Parts Forum  

Go Back   A8 Parts Forum > A8 D2 > D2 - Engine Bay

D2 - Engine Bay Everything under the bonnet

Old 7th January 2014, 12:31 PM

Default Audi S8 D2 Oil Cooler Fail

I have an audi S8 D2 40v Facelift and basically the oil and coolant have mixed and the expansion tank is full of mixed oil and anti freeze,

I have a new oil cooler and the important plastic pipe which is usually culprit, I took off the alloy wheel and cover etc to check if theres any oil leaking and I can see some oil on the oil cooler housing but nowhere else so im pretty sure its oil cooler thats failed as theres no water in the engine etc, no over heating problems!!

I took the car to my local mechanic who does alot of my servicing etc but after looking at it he didnt want to touch it, hes an old school mechanic so more used to doing basic cars,

I was wondering if anyone had used K seal or similar product to try to seal the broken pipe or the oil cooler, im not a mechanic so do not have much knowledge about such things and im not even sure if the plastic pipe carries water or oil?

Im in the enfield north london area EN3, if there are any local mechanics around here how much would it cost average to get it replaced?
Old 7th January 2014, 01:17 PM

Replacing the cooler is pretty major surgery and could take a skilled mechanic a whole day. The process is very involved with a lot of disassembly.

http://www.audipages.com/Tech_Articl...reinstall.html
2004 D3 A8 3.7 Quattro, Xenon, Bose, Blinds, Solar Sunroof, TV, ACC, phone and almost every option. 168K miles rising slowly
with retrofit AMI and DVB-T in place of Analogue
2003 Volvo S60 D5 SE Manual, 197K miles.
2001 D2 A8 3.7 QS, Bi-Xenon, Bose, Blinds, Electric Everything, retrofitted RNS-D, 191K Miles
Old 7th January 2014, 06:17 PM

Hi yes Ive got that link book marked and thats where I saw the instructions and got the idea to check for leaks on the actual oil cooler housing etc,